top of page

Craig Simchuk selected as 2022-23 SPHL Coach of the Year

By Allan Westerholt | SPHL

The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) announced that Craig Simchuk of the Birmingham Bulls has been selected as the SPHL Coach of the Year in a vote of league representatives.

Evansville’s Jeff Bes finished second in the voting.

Simchuk led Birmingham to the largest single-season point increase (36-point increase) in SPHL history as the Bulls went from a 42-point season in 2021-22 to a 78-point season this year, breaking the old record also held by the Bulls when they had a 30-point increase from 2017-18 to 2018-19. The Bulls also had a league-high mark with 21 home wins.

Now in his third season behind the Bulls bench, Simchuk joins Jamey Hicks as the only Birmingham coaches to capture the award.

Previous SPHL Coach of the Year Winners

2021-22- Jeff Carr, Knoxville Ice Bears 2020-21 – Kevin Kerr, Macon Mayhem 2019-20 – Jesse Kallechy, Fayetteville Marksmen 2018-19 – Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls 2017-18 – Jean-Guy Trudel, Peoria Rivermen 2016-17 – Kevin Kerr, Macon Mayhem 2015-16 – Jean-Guy Trudel, Peoria Rivermen 2014-15 – Jean-Guy Trudel, Peoria Rivermen 2013-14 – Rod Aldoff, Pensacola Ice Flyers 2012-13 – Mark DeSantis, Fayetteville FireAntz 2011-12 – Jeff Bes, Mississippi Surge 2010-11 – Brad Ralph, Augusta RiverHawks 2009-10 – Steffon Walby, Mississippi Surge 2008-09 – Scott Hillman, Knoxville Ice Bears 2007-08 – Rick Allain, Jacksonville Barracudas 2006-07 – John Marks, Fayetteville FireAntz 2005-06 – Jerome Bechard, Columbus Cottonmouths 2004-05 – Derek Booth, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Defensemen of the Year on Monday.

281 views0 comments


bottom of page