top of page

Birmingham’s Hayden Stewart named SPHL Goaltender of the Year

The SPHL on Tuesday announced that Hayden Stewart of the Birmingham Bulls has been named the SPHL Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches, broad- casters, and staff.

Stewart led SPHL goaltenders in minutes played (2324:29), while ranking second in wins (26), goals against average (2.14), save percentage (0.925), saves (1,028) and shutouts (four).

A native of Rockford, IL, Stewart established a new Bulls’ franchise mark for goals against average, sur- passing the previous record of 2.28 set by Mavric Parks in the 2018-19 season.

Stewart joins Parks as the only two netminders in Birmingham’s history to win the award.

Previous SPHL Goaltender of the Year Winners

2022-23 - Trevor Gorsuch, Evansville Thunderbolts

2021-22 - Hunter Vorva, Huntsville Havoc

2020-21 - Jake Theut, Macon Mayhem

2019-20 - Eric Levine, Peoria Rivermen

2018-19 - Mavric Parks, Birmingham

Bulls 2017-18 - Brad Barone, Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs

2016-17 - Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz

2015-16 - Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem

2014-15 - Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen

2013-14 - Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen

2012-13 - Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators

2011-12 - Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.

52 views0 comments


bottom of page